About Northern Pueblos Housing Authority

Mission and Purpose

Northern Pueblos Housing Authority’s (NPHA) mission is to provide support the common spiritual bonds, quality of life, and sovereignty of the Picuris, San Ildefonso and Tesuque Pueblos by providing premier housing, economic, and community facilities development services.


NPHA has served as the federally-recognized Tribally Designated Housing Entity (TDHE) for member communities the since 1971. NPHA’s prime responsibility is to procure and manage Member Pueblo’s annual Indian Housing Block Grant (IHBG) funds from the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development.  Each year, Pueblo’s create an Indian Housing Plan (IHP) which directs NPHA to use IHBG funds to advance high priority community improvement projects in partnership with federal and state funding sources such as the U.S. Departments of Housing and Urban Development, Agriculture, Commerce, and Energy; New Mexico Mortgage Finance Authority, Department of Indian Affairs; and Environment Department; and private funders such as the Federal Home Loan Bank, Rural Community Assistance Corporation, and Native Home Capital among others. We have consistently delivered $3 million in community improvement projects to the three communities in each of the past five years.

Northern Pueblos Housing Authority Housing Commissioners

NPHA is governed by a three-person Board of Commissioners appointed by Member Pueblo’s.  Commissioners meet monthly to oversee and manage the affairs of the organization. Commissioners are Pueblo’s lead Points of Contact and authorized representatives for all matters pertaining to NPHA.  Because Commissioners service is voluntary, we encourage you to contact the appropriate paid NPHA staff person to address any housing issues you might have first. However, Commissioners are willing to listen to your housing concerns and communicate about them to NPHA, too.


Commissioner Michael C. Vigil, Chairman
Pueblo of Tesuque
Rt. 42 Box 360-T
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87506
(505) 819-9004
(505) 982-2331 FAX

Claudine Martinez, Vice-Chair
Pueblo de San Ildefonso
02 Tunyo Po
Santa Fe, New Mexico 87506
(505) 660-6602


Commissioner Lyman Charlie, Secretary
Pueblo of Picuris
P.O. Box 127
Penasco, New Mexico 87553
(575) 587-2519
(575) 587-1071 FAX